Short Story

The Wreck

My future has changed; I’m turning into a wreck. I feel as though a large weight is dragging me under. I’m drowning in what I was made to withstand.  And in my hour of need, everyone seems to be leaving me. I’m left to take stock of that which is left of me and salvage what I can. My heart is pounding as the waves get stronger, the winds louder. My soul feels weighted; my body being dismembered. Pieces of me fall on top of others; each broken part trying to support the other. I watch as the people who I have come to know as my family leave me; each jumping into boats to save themselves. In the end no one, but yourself will be left to keep you company. I feel something inside me, crack and fall into the great blue abyss that seems to have started filling me up. I’m almost filled, yet I’ve never felt so empty. My surroundings are now deserted; not a soul in sight. Yet; I see them, almost over the horizon they fly towards safety as I sink to my doom.

The beautiful light of hope that clung to the sky during my torturous descent is now following the same path as I am. He slowly dips under the horizon; letting his light shine as much as he can in my last moments. He sees me in my peril; he sees what my fate is; he waves me a forlorn adieu. For I know that even though he shall be the only one who follows me to my doom; he shall wake up in a beautiful land called tomorrow whereas I shall not. I shall rot at the bottom of this unforgiving ocean; breaking apart, piece by piece until nothing is left but the essence of my soul. My face is still high up; facing the clouds of the now darkening sky. The sky in whose stars are now starting to show. My beak waves its final farewell to the beautiful world as my bottom half greets the ocean floor with a resounding yet silent thud. My mast cracks; My floors crack. I seem to be caving in; pieces of me becoming splinters to the others. I shall never see my beautiful deck again; never have a captain’s hand at the magnificent wheel at my helm. No navigators at the captain’s quarters. No sailors mopping the deck.  Finally; I am submerged; never to see the light of day again. And my heart? It breaks apart, and forever shall my wooden remains lie at the bottom of this bottomless sea.

 

3 thoughts on “The Wreck”

  1. Every single soul is in charge of their own deeds… Allahu subhanahu wa tala created a day of judgement so that people will know that one day they have to be accountable for what they did with their own hands. But the Almighty is so Merciful so Loving that he said that as long as you come back to me regret of what you did and seek forgiveness I will forgive you… and the light of hope starts shining again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment